Search TwitterFacebook

Sixth Form Subjects

BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Applied Science

Course/Subject Structure:

The BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Applied Science is a 1080 guided learning hour (GLH) qualification that consists of 13 Units. There are 7 mandatory units plus 6 optional units. 4 of the mandatory units are externally assessed (exams).

The externally assessed units are:

Unit 1: Principles and Application of Science I
Unit 3: Scientific Investigation Skills
Unit 5: Principles and Applications of Science II
Unit 7: Contemporary Issues in Science

Mandatory units (students are required to complete all seven mandatory units)


1.   Principles and Applications of Science I
2.   Practical Scientific Procedures and Techniques
3.   Science Investigation Skills
4.   Laboratory Techniques and their Application
5.   Principles and Applications of Science II
6.   Investigative Project
7.   Contemporary Issues in Science

Pupils are required to complete the following optional specialist units:


8.   Physiology of human body systems
9.   Human regulation and reproduction
14. Applications of organic chemistry
19. Practical chemical analysis
18. Industrial chemical reactions
16. Astronomy and space science

BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Health & Social care

Course/Subject Structure:

This entails 1080 Guided Learning Hours (1530 TQT) Equivalent in size to three A Levels. The qualification consists of 13 units of which 8 are Mandatory and 4 are external. Mandatory content (72%). External assessment (42%).

Core Units (Students are required to complete all eight core units)


1.   Human Lifespan Development
2.   Working in Health & Social care
3.   Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social care
4.   Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social care
5.   Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
6.   Work Experience in Health and Social care
7.   Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social care
8.   Promoting Public Health

Pupils are required to complete the following additional specialist units:


9. Infection Prevention and Control
10. Sociological Perspectives
11. Psychological Perspectives
17. Caring for Individuals with Dementia
19. Nutritional Health

GCSE Maths

Edexcel GCSE 9-1 Mathematics

The Maths course at Key Stage 4 builds on the mastery of key mathematical concepts acquired at Key Stage 3. Year 9 students follow a scheme of work in which teaching for understanding enables students to continue their learning in key number concepts of ratio and proportional reasoning and geometry. The GCSE course is then taught with the same principals of teaching for understanding in all strands of Number, Ratio and Proportion, Algebra, Shape and Space and Statistics. There is a high focus on problem solving, reasoning and communicating mathematics to ensure that students develop the skills they need to apply to the final examination questions.

 Edexcel GCSE English Language

The English course at Key Stage Four builds students’ skills to prepare them for their GCSE exams. The curriculum in Year 11 and KS5 is designed to study the majority of the literature texts required for the GCSE English Literature qualification. While studying the literature texts, lessons are planned to ensure students are able to develop skills and understanding to allow them to excel in their exams. In addition to the study of literature texts, students are also provided time to hone the skills required for their GCSE English Language qualification.


  • To set challenging targets with high expectations for all pupils.
  • To offer a variety of approaches to teaching and learning to engage and motivate pupils and demand their active participation.
  • To smooth the transition for pupils between Key Stages and ensure progression in teaching and learning throughout their time at Harborne Academy.
  • To explore enrichment opportunities outside the curriculum to enhance pupils’ enjoyment of mathematics.
Back to Top